The Carlton Sherwood Journalism Award annually recognizes both journalistic excellence and those members of the media who have shown special interest in and dedication to the needs and concerns of American veterans.  The award is named in honor of the highly decorated U.S. Marine Corps veteran of Vietnam and Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist.  Carlton Sherwood achieved excellence in both the print and electronic media.  His other reporting honors include awards from Sigma Delta Chi, the national journalistic society; the Peabody Award; the Robert F. Kennedy Prize from the Kennedy Foundation; and the Silver Gavel Award of the American Bar Association.


Previous recipients of the Carlton Sherwood Journalism Award include:  

Chris Plante, The Chris Plante Show, The Military Writers Guild, William Schulz, Former Executive Editor, Reader’s Digest, The Honorable Patrick Murphy, J.D, Kevin Wensing, military and veterans community advocate, Lindsey Boerma,, Donna Leinwand Leger, USA TODAY, George L. Skypeck, Military Historical Artist and Poet John Harper, Editor,, Leon Harris, News Anchor, ABC7/WJLA-TV and The GI Film Festival, The National Press Club, American Legion Magazine, Adrian Cronauer, former Vietnam War Radio Broadcaster & Norm Brewer, Gannett News Svc

Mailing Address

Exclusive Travel Partner

Follow Us Online